sympathy

What do you say to someone who you are certain won’t hear your words of sympathy and can’t comprehend them? Who’s ground has been pulled out from under her and the air has been sucked from her lungs? Who is going to be asked to make “final resting plans” for her 2nd son, a boy looking towards 6th grade in the fall?

My cousin’s son was killed today in an accident on their farm. I don’t know many details… truly those details don’t matter. He’s gone either way. Either way, he’s not coming home.

I am sad for their family. For their loss. But I am terrified for the feeling my cousin is feeling as a mother experiencing an incomprehensible loss. It is the feeling that no one wants to empathize with. And sympathy doesn’t cut it. Nothing cuts it. I am so sad for them, and it only makes me more scared for myself, for our kids, for the world we live in and I can’t shelter everyone from forever. Myself included.

No child should die before their parents. It’s not fair. It’s not okay. But it’s their reality tonight. I’m so sorry for their loss.

5 thoughts on “sympathy

  1. Wow. That breaks my heart to read this. What DO you say? I think you’ve said just about all I can think of. May they be blessed.

    (This is Kelly BTW…long(ish) story, but new blog…)

      • It totally does. Lately I can’t watch the news without squeezing my kiddos and fighting for breath. Around here it’s falling furniture and hot cars lately for some reason. Then you have to somehow pick yourself back up and keep going, and worry more about keeping them safe. Guess all I can do is pray…

  2. Well said cousin. I feel very much the same way. We’ve been just heart broken for them, almost unable to even try to full feel what I do feel for them. Just holding them in prayer and knowing that many all over the state and country are doing the same.

    • I just read your post about your mother in law… That’s an overwhelming amount of grief you are dealing with and I am so sorry for that. You and Mike are also in my prayers for peace. 💗

Leave a comment