crib mobile

So I found a cute mobile idea on pinterest a couple months ago, and I finally had the time to make it. The tutorial I followed can be found here.

I found all of the fabric and the ribbon at fabric.com. IMG_3554

painted the inside ring of a embroidery hoop (from hobby lobby)

IMG_3557

then I traced circles onto the paper side of iron-on adhesive – I ordered a 1 1/2 yard and it fit my 96 circles perfectly! I traced around a spray paint can lid, if that gives you an idea of size.

IMG_3559

I ironed the adhesive to the wrong side of the fabrics, and cut out the circles.

IMG_3564

I cut my 6 yard piece of red ribbon into 8 27″ strips, then I peeled the paper backing off the fabric circles and placed them about an inch and a half apart on the ribbon, pinned them, and ironed them all to get the adhesive to stick. as you can see, Nella was very enthused by the whole project.

IMG_3565

After that I sewed down the ribbon with red thread to secure all of them.

IMG_3567

Here’s the finished product… I’m pretty proud of it! Not too frilly, bright colors, and hopefully will be eye-catching for the baby. My husband said it looks “a little hippy-ish” – I’ll take that as a compliment from him 🙂 I have lots of left-over fabric (I had to order a 1/2 yard of each pattern from the website), so hopefully will be motivated enough to make a crib rail teething bumper to match. Although, there’s no tutorial with that, so we’ll see how it turns out!

IMG_3569_2IMG_3571_2

10 thoughts on “crib mobile

  1. This is so cute!! I have been looking all over for DIY mobile ideas because the ones on Etsy are SO expensive, as are store-bought (and I’d rather not have a plastic thing that lights up and makes noise). Love it…

  2. Pingback: teething crib rail protectors | the mcmuffin house

Leave a Reply

